There is a right way and a wrong way to ride a jetski and here we want to inform you on what laws you have to abide by to avoid getting in trouble and also good riding habits.
here is a copy from the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department.
Personal Watercraft Operation and Regulations
A personal watercraft (PWC) is defined as a type of motorboat which is specifically designed to be operated by a person or persons sitting, standing, or kneeling ON the vessel rather than INSIDE the vessel. The term PWC includes jet skis, wet bikes, etc. Any person being towed by a PWC is considered an occupant of the PWC, and is required to wear a life jacket.
Required Safety Equipment for Personal Watercraft (PWC)
All equipment requirements for regular motorboats also apply to PWC. In addition to those requirements:
Operation of Your Personal Watercraft
NOTE: Children under 13 are specifically prohibited from operating a PWC unless accompanied on board by a person at least 18 years of age.
All operational rules for regular motorboats also apply to PWC. In addition to those requirements, it is unlawful for any person to:
It is unlawful for any person to:
To learn these “rules of the road”, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department strongly recommends participation in a Boater Education course. Excellent courses are available from many sources to help hone your boating skills, including online courses, Coast Guard Auxiliary courses, Power Squadron courses, and others. To complete the Mandatory Boater Education course for the State of Texas (required for certain operators as noted below), check our schedule of courses or use the online Boater Education Course available on this website.
Mandatory Boater Education
A TPWD certified boater education course and photo I.D. is required for any person born on or after September 1, 1984 to operate (1) a vessel powered by motor of 10 horsepower or more; or (2) a windblown vessel over 14 feet in length.
**Boater Education courses from other states are acceptable if NASBLA (National Association of State Boating Law Administrators) approved.
Exceptions: A person is exempt from the mandatory boater education requirement if the person (1) is at least 18 years of age; (2) is accompanied by a person at least 18 years of age who is exempt from the course or who has completed the course; (3) holds a master's, mate's, or operators license issued by the U.S. Coast Guard; or (4) is otherwise exempt by rule of the department.
A person adjudged guilty of one of the following operating violations: (1) any personal watercraft operating violation, (2) reckless or negligent operation, (3) excessive speed, (4) reckless operation and excessive speed, (5) hazardous wake or wash, (6) circular course around fisherman or swimmer, (7) interference with markers or ramps, (8) obstructing passage, (9) operating boats in restricted areas, (10) operating vessels in scuba diving or snorkeling areas, (11) skiing during illegal hours or in a manner that endangers life or property, shall be required to successfully complete an approved boater education course AND pay a fine. Failure to complete the boater education course within 90 days will result in the person committing an offense that is a Parks and Wildlife Class A misdemeanor.
Southwest Jet Ski Rentals © 2009